Turkey Imposes Curfew on 13 Villages in Bitlis Southeast of Country

Turkey Imposes Curfew on 13 Villages in Bitlis Southeast of Country

Turkish authorities announced a curfew in 13 villages in the province of Bitlis southeast of Turkey.

Bitlis governorate said in a statement on Monday (January 8) that a military operation against the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) would be carried out in the 13 villages and places in the province.

The curfew has gone into effect on Monday until further notice, the governorate added.

Turkish authorities also lifted curfew on seven villages and places in Hizan in the Bitlis province. The curfew took six days in those areas.

On December 31,Turkey announced creation of “30 private security zones” in the province of Tunceli eastern Turkey due to military operations.

Turkey is currently embroiled in a three-decade long conflict with the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) which has also seen the Kurdish group carrying out attacks on the state targeting Turkish security services.

Turkey has imposed curfews in several cities in the southeast in an effort to root out the PKK. Hundreds have died since the PKK and the Turkish state resumed hostilities after the collapse of the ceasefire in July 2015.

Southeastern Turkey has plunged back into some of its worst violence since the 1990s after a two-year ceasefire between the PKK and the state collapsed in July 2015.