Turkey Imposes Curfew on 10 Villages Southeast Of Country

Turkey Imposes Curfew on 10 Villages Southeast Of Country

 Turkish authorities announced Monday (November 27) they will impose a curfew in 10 villages in the province of Bitlis in the southeast of the country.

Authorities in Bitlis implemented the curfew on Monday morning in the villages in Hizan district southeast of Turkey, Kurdish media outlets in the country reported.

The curfew will allow the Turkish army to carry out military operations against suspected members of the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) in the villages.

Turkey has routinely imposed curfews on Kurdish villages and cities in the country’s southeast in its conflict with the PKK. By June of 2017, the Turkish Human Rights Foundation (İHV) had reported 218 curfews had been implemented.

Turkey is currently embroiled in a three-decade long conflict with the PKK, which has also seen the Kurdish group carrying out attacks on the state, targeting Turkish security services.

Turkey has imposed curfews in several cities in the southeast in an effort to root out the PKK. Hundreds have died since the PKK and the Turkish state resumed hostilities after the collapse of the ceasefire in July 2015.

Southeastern Turkey has plunged back into some of its worst violence since the 1990s after a two-year ceasefire between the PKK and the state collapsed in July 2015.